This past week has been a killer. I was finally struck down with my first bout of pregnancy illness – the cold.

I’ll be the first to admit that this pregnancy hasn’t been all that difficult. Aside from about 2 weeks of morning sickness in the very beginning when we first learned that I was pregnant, and constant, lingering fatigue (but I’m still going, going, going!), I haven’t been feeling all that bad. When the third trimester started a few weeks ago, I definitely felt a lot slower, but that was to be expected as Max was using my body for his own selfish purposes of development, growth and maturity. This kid is already sucking the life out of me! Hee – just kidding!.

Last Friday, I woke up and couldn’t breathe. At first I thought, “Oh yeah, it’s just Max pressing up on my lungs and other internal organs, just like the nice folks in the What to Expect When You’re Expecting book said he would at this time,” but then when I really couldn’t breathe and had to sit up, I felt all of this horrible phlegm and spit stuck in the middle of my chest.

The culprit to my breathing woes.

I first tried to hack it all out, as had worked in the past with severe colds, but I couldn’t get enough air into my lungs to get a solid push out. Then, like a good pregnant lady, I started to panic and cry, which woke Dave up. Great, mission accomplished. Dave tried to help me out by patting my back, but I still couldn’t get enough force behind my coughs to make any kind of headway into my chest congestion.

After about 15 minutes of trying, I gave up and decided to just go to sleep. I then tried to find a comfortable position to sleep in, but when you’ve got an extra 20 lbs of belly in your way, it’s not the easiest thing in the world to do.  I finally settled into a somewhat strange 45 degree slant with a pillow supporting my back, and fell asleep.

I woke up about an hour later with the same cough, same breathing issues.

In the end, I managed to get myself to work for a half day that Friday, and was able to host an open house on Sunday, but all the activity of those three days definitely took a toll on me because by the time Monday rolled around, I was a mess. 

I had an incredibly difficult time breathing all Monday, which didn’t help with my first non-stress test at Alta Bates.  I’m supposed to go to the antepartum department twice a week for fetal heart monitoring, which is another nice way for me to keep track of how the baby is doing.  Still had a lot of work to do that day, so after my appointment on Monday it was off to work as usual.  By the time I got home on Monday evening, I knew that I had to take a few days off work to get over this horrible cold.  Dave bought me Benadryl on the recommendation of the OB’s advice nurse, and I spent Tuesday and Wednesday holed up in bed.  Well, I first held an open house for brokers for a home I have for sale on Tuesday, and then I went home and rested for the next two days.

I went back to work on Thursday, still not feeling too well, but knowing that I had some work to catch up on.  It’s Sunday evening now, and while I still have a little bit of difficulty coughing, I definitely feel better today than I have in the last week. 

Everything is heightened in pregnancy.  A cold that normally takes two or so days to recover from, takes more than a week when the pregnant immune system is working overtime. 

Oh, and during my cold/hell week, we also fit in a labor prep class on Wednesday night, and a baby care class on Thursday night.  The baby care class was more for Dave and I found it to be very amusing.  I’ve seen Dave carry little babies before, and so I made the baby care class mandatory for him before Max’s arrival.  During class we were shown how to properly pick up a baby, how to change diapers – both cloth and disposable, and learned more about the basics of baby care.  Dave took it all in stride, and admitted his need to practice diaper duty on the pseudo baby slash dolls that they let us use for the class.  I was a bit nervous when I saw how uncomfortable he was with the fake baby, but I know that he just needs to practice both before Max arrives and once Max is here and will get the hang of it hopefully sooner rather than later.

We’re starting week 34 tomorrow!  Max is only 6 weeks away (at the most), and Dave and I are starting to realize how short this time really is. 

Much too, much too short.  I need another 9 months to get ready!

