One of the challenges that Dave and I had whenever Max would cry was trying to figure out what he was crying about.  We’ve been able to identify his “I’m hungry” cry and his “I’m poopy” cry, but we’re still having problems with “I’m gassy,” “I’m irritated” and “I’m tired.”  For the last three, however, popping a pacifier in his mouth seemed to do the trick and sooth him from whatever it was that was bothering him.

The last few nights, however, we’re woken up in the middle of the night to hear a slurping sound coming from Max’s co-sleeper.  When I looked into his bed, he was sucking on his fist!  Then, he moved from his fist to putting his thumb in his mouth.  My son is a thumbsucker!

20071120thumbsucking-max.jpg

(Poor abandoned pacifier sitting at the corner of the bed.)

I know that it’s not something to be proud of, but I sucked my thumb for a very long time as a kid (enough to stunt the growth of my right thumb), so I’m not going to force Max to stop doing something that soothes him.  He seems really happy and babbles at the same time, and it’s so much fun to watch him.

We’re in San Diego this week, and having a great time.  This morning, I was reading my latest book, The Almost Moon by Alice Sebold, and Max thought that he’d try to read as well.  Considering the subject matter of the book, a daughter who has killed her elderly mother, I didn’t think that it was one that I’d read aloud to him.

20071120reading-max1.jpg

20071120reading-max2.jpg

Afterwards, we played and posed for photos.

20071120mama-and-max.jpg

20071120mama-and-max-2.jpg

Max was tired from all of the morning’s activities, so he fell asleep.

20071120sleeping-max.jpg

After he woke up, he went back to his thumbsucking ways.

20071120thumbsucking-max-1.jpg

20071120thumbsucking-max-2.jpg

He played with Lolo and Daddy in the living room, next to the Christmas tree that Lola had put up for him.

20071120maxlolo.jpg

20071119daddylolo.jpg

And he even met his Ninang Christine!

20071120ninang-chris.jpg

Ninang was so comfy, that Max fell asleep in her lap.

20071120ninang-chris-sleeping-max.jpg

