Well, not really…it’s more like smashed peas and smushed carrots.

Max has definitely been enjoying his new culinary repertoire. We introduced him to rice cereal on the new year, which he took to like a fish. With that success, we started him on the “yellows”, including sweet potatoes, which he loved, and carrots, which I think he loved.

Basically, our strategy is to introduce him to a new vegetable each week for the first 6 weeks, and then move on to fruits sometime in mid-February. We gave him peas a few times, which he seemed to really enjoy, but then I read in the What to Expect the First Year book to hold off on peas as a first food.

Instead, we’ve added green beans to Max’s diet, and while he’s not loving it as much as the orange foods, he still likes it much more than just plain rice cereal.

20080125pea-face.jpg

I’m going to see if I can find pureed squash at the supermarket to give him. My mom mentions it at least once a day as a food that I really enjoyed as a baby, so maybe my son’s tastes will go the same w ay.

He’s also eating 3 “meals” a day – (1) rice cereal in the morning, (2) 1/2 a jar of a veggie and rice cereal for lunch, and (3) 1/2 to a whole jar of veggies for dinner, with rice cereal afterwards if he’s still hungry. And, of course, he’s having his mama’s milk for snackies and fussy times. He usually has milk first thing in the morning, mid-morning, an hour after lunch, an hour before dinner, and then at bedtime. My Medela pump is definitely getting a workout!

I have thought about making Max food at home, which I’m sure in the long run would be more affordable, but between our busy work week, weekend social and family commitments, cleaning the house, and meeting up with clients on the weekends, I figure for that the few spare hours (if that) that we have, I’ll just spend playing with Max. But, it’s definitely something I wish I had more time for – who doesn’t want to boil various veggies, smash them up and strain them, and then find new and creative ways store small amounts of them? 🙂

And just to show you all how happy Max is after a meal, this is our after-dinner reward every night.

20080125happy-face.jpg

We love you Max!

