Just a FEW gaming mentionables over the last few weekends:

(1)  Last Saturday was the EndGame auction.  I put up four games for auction and sold three for some store credit.  I plan on holding onto the store credit in order to pick up the Carcassonne and 7 Wonders expansions that are coming out later this year.

I also put out a winning bid on a couple of games:

 

2008 Campaign Manager.  Hey, it’s a McCain vs. Obama battleground state card game?  (What could possibly go wrong?)  Even as a curiosity, the game was only $5.  So even one play, and it was worth my hard earned green.  Or red and blue states.

 

$how Manager – it’s a Euro game with a theme similar to NBC’s “Smash”.  (And is it wrong that every time I hear the NBC announcer say “Smash”, I add “Hulk” and an exclamation point at the end?)  In terms of the game, you are a producer.  You cast musicals and depending on your mix of characters, you gain money and prestige.  Most victory points at the end of four musicals, wins.  It’s designed by Dirk Henn, the designer of Alhambra.  I had been eyeballing it since I thought the theme plus liking the game designers other works, but it’s MSRP was $60-65.  I got a shrink wrapped, not yet cardboard-punched copy at the auction for $22.  Oh yeah, I do believe I will be attending this auction next year.  🙂

 

(2)  It’s that time of year again – 25-40% off items at Dr. Comics and Mister Games!  (As mentioned earlier – Saturday is traditionally the 40% daily special day for board games, but that’s not necessarily the case this time – so call them first!)

 

(3)  Wil Wheaton’s Tabletop youtube channel show is an interesting watch.  I finally have a rudimentary understanding of Settlers of Catan, and after seeing a game of Small World, I’ve put it back on my BGG wish list.

 

(4)  After a frustrating set of “family style” games with Flash Point: Fire Rescue Urban Structures (the expansion to Flash Point Fire Rescue, which I’ve gushed about before here), I wrote about it on boardgamegeek.com and the designer of the game, Kevin Lanzing, actually replied to my thread, which was definitely nifty!

 

(5)  This coming Saturday Pete and I are tentatively planning on attending a Carcassonne tournament at House of Games in Fremont.  I think the hard part is that our version of Carcassonne is semi-competitive and usually with a few expansions added in.  This will be “blood” Carcassonne with only the basic set, meaning in a six player tournament, there are eight meeples and only 12 tiles per player in a round (basic Carcassonne only has 72 tiles).  In short, this will be an ugly minimized resource slaughter, but with the possibility of some store credit on the line, I figure Pete and I stand a good chance, especially after playing multiple games with Valerie, the Queen of Carcassonne.

 

(6)  Played a couple more games of Airlines Europe (previous blog entry on the game) a couple of weekends ago with Lynn, Pete and Valerie, and I believe I’ve figured it out now.  I tied for the win once and won outright the next time.  Mwah hah hah!  (Yes, I’m gloating, because I’m fairly certain it’ll be short lived.)  Similarly, I’ve played a few rounds of Dominion with Pete, and then later with Valerie.  The cards seem to SOAK up human hand oils, so a tip – if you get this game – card sleeving is called for.

 

(7)  Pete and I finally got to play Lords of Waterdeep after hearing multiple reviews from both the podcasting world and friends.  After Pete and I played it, I had the feeling I had played it before.  Once I thought about it – the game basically mixes game mechanics in Fresco and Ticket To Ride to create an intriguing resource management Euro game.

Here’s why I think this:  In Lords of Waterdeep, you direct your colored meeples to indicate resource usage to gain colored cubes.  In Fresco the colored cubes represent paint needed to complete a fresco tile, whereas in Lord of Waterdeep, it’s particular classes of DnD needed to complete a quest which gains you victory points.  In Ticket to Ride, your secret destination cards give you bonus victory points.    In Lords of Waterdeep, your secret patron Lord gives you victory points for particular TYPES of quests you take.  So it’s definitely a game I get conceptually.  I’m not sure if it’s DIFFERENT enough from these other games where I will run out and purchase it, but I enjoyed playing it nonetheless and if it hits the gaming table again, I certainly won’t say no.  🙂

