There’s has been an explosion of board game adaptations for the iOS iPad – so much so that it’s been hard not to INSTABUY them.

However, if you do NOT already own these real world board game equivalents – I will make a few suggestions – as well as call out folks that these games would be perfect for that are likely not playing these games yet.

Eclipse — $6.99 (with $4.99 SALE just announced) Space 4x game. I’ve blogged about it before. If you like a hefty mix of euro game economics mixed with a “take that, pew-pew-pew sci-fi spaceship combat domination”, then this game is worth it. Online version is also extremely fun. It’s asynchronous turn-based play and not real time, and would highly recommend this game to anybody who has an iPad, enjoys space-themed, tactical battle games and thinks that Illuminati was too nice of a game.

Person I know who would enjoy this game the most that isn’t playing this yet: Dan

Alien Frontiers — $4.99 iOS and Android version. Colonize a planet faster than everyone else and achieve dominance! It’s a worker placement game – with DICE! Sadly, no asynchronous net-play yet but the AI is half decent.

Person I know who would enjoy this game the most that isn’t playing this yet: Ian

Agricola — $6.99. Who thought that being a 16th Century farmer would be so much fun or competitive? The iOS version finally “taught” me how to play this game, and now I enjoy both iOS and the real life versions a great deal.

(There’s another blog story here about how Max learned this before I did – which is truly amusing because I’ve blogged about not being able to make sense of this game before but I’ll save that story for another time.)

The only two drawbacks is that the real life copy has far more card variety than the iOS version and the online version has no chat function (which would be awesome – because I know I “trash-talk” at my iPad when I play this game against others and I also know I’m not alone).

AI Play and asynchronous online player options of the game are available on the game.

Person I know who would enjoy this game the most that isn’t playing this yet: Dad

Pandemic – $6.99. The board game is a co-operative challenge. Save the world from four diseases! It’s Contagion: The Board Game! It’s a fun game, but definitely a brain burner. I think I’ve only beaten the board game version of this game twice on the “easy” setting.

Person I know who would enjoy this game the most that isn’t playing this yet: Alex I.

Alhambra – $4.99. I’ve blogged about this one before. It’s fun. Build your Spanish Alhambra by purchasing market building tiles and have the best buildings and longest defensive wall, and you win! However, I find this one more fun with the extra expansions in the real world (iOS version is just the base game), so I’m holding off on actually buying this one for the moment but I can confirm the real world version of the game is quite fun. And yes, there’s an Android version too but it’s an extra buck.

Person I know who would enjoy this game the most that isn’t playing this yet: (tie) Anni/Andy

Suburbia – unknown cost, suspect $4.99 to 6.99 and coming out SOON. Ever wanted to be a city planner? This game is SimCity The Board Game and teaches you why you never want to put a Landfill next to your population. The board game is great (again, see earlier blog) but I suspect the iPad version will be a big hit. Not sure if there’s asynchronous online play with this one, but there should be! And the developer has mentioned that right behind the iOS version will be an Android version as well…

Since this isn’t out yet, can’t recommend it to anyone per se but it’s likely going to be Val since next to Carcassonne this is one of her faves. 🙂

Totally unrelated to gaming – today marks an “anniversary birthday” for my sister Paige, so raise your glass, Internets! 🙂

Lastly, apologies for any formatting errors… Trying out the new WordPress app… 🙂

